Teams at a Glance | Prema Racing Formula 3

Prema Powerteam, more commonly known as Prema Racing, have just gone on to win the 2020 Formula 3 Championship. The Italian team, founded in 1983, have competed in the variations of Formula 3 since 2002 where they debuted in the Italian Formula 3 where they completed one race and finished 6th in the standings.

Alongside the Italian Grand Prix, which they completed from 2009 to 2012 where they took 3 seconds and finished their time with a championship win, they raced in the Formula 3 Euro Series from 2003 to 2012. They started off their time on a high as they took 3rd in the championship three years in a row before finishing their last two season with championship wins. When the championship turned to the FIA European Formula 3 Championship, they competed from 2013 to 2018 where the championship terminated. Every single year, Prema managed to win the teams championship. Since 2010 until 2018, where we saw the European F3 end, they’d taken eight teams championships.

In 2019, the FIA European F3 Championship became the FIA Formula 3 Championship which we know and love to this day. For their first year, the team was joined by Robert Shwartzman, Marcus Armstrong and Jehan Daruvala. The three drivers took the top three positions in the drivers standings with Shwartzman finishing first with 212, Armstrong in second with 157 and Daruvala in third with 156. The team finished with 527 points and took the teams ninth consecutive Formula 3 win.

The move to this season saw none of the drivers return. Prema replaced the drivers with Oscar Piastri, Logan Sargeant and Frederik Vesti. Shwartzman continued with the team in the Formula 2 Championship while the other two drivers also graduated to different teams. Prema’s year was still successful but no where near as successful as the previous year. Piastri went on to win the championship but the Prema’s were split by ART’s Theo Pourchaire. Sargeant finished third while Vesti finished fourth. The team as a whole took 470.5 points and took their tenth consecutive Formula 3 Team Championship.

Come back on Wednesday 5pm BST for another post, situated here on our website!