Teams at a Glance | ART Grand Prix Formula 3

ART Grand Prix, formally known as Lotus ART, finished third in the 2020 FIA Formula 3 Championship with their highest placing driver finishing second in the drivers standings. The French team, founded in 1991, have competed in the variations of Formula 3 since 2003 where they debuted in the Formula 3 Euro Series where they took one win with a driver finishing third in the standings.

They stuck with the Formula 3 Euro Series until 2010 where they took first in the teams championship from 2005 through to 2009. In their final year, where they were joined by Valtteri Bottas and Alexander Sims, they finished second. From there, they competed in the GP3 Series from 2010 to 2018 where the championship terminated. They took the teams championship win in 2010 through to 2013. In 2014, they finished second before continuing their winning streak in 2015 until 2018. Regarding positions, 2017 was the teams most positive vibe with George Russell finishing first, Formula 2’s Jack Aitken finishing second, Nirei Fukuzumi finishing third and Anthoine Hubert finishing fourth. In regards to points, the final GP3 in 2018 was the teams most positive year with 640 points where we saw Hubert win the championship, Formula 2’s Nikita Mazepin finish second and Formula 2’s Callum Ilott finish third. Formula 3’d Jake Hughes also competed with the team where he finished 8th.

In 2019, the GP3 became what we now know as the FIA Formula 3 Championship. Although ART had been the most successful team through out the Euro Series and GP3, they were up against Prema who had been successful in their series until the two meshed together. In their first year, ART was joined by Formula 2’s Christian Lundgaard, Formula 3’d Max Fewtrell and Formula 3’s David Beckmann. As a whole, the team finished 3rd with Lundgaard taking the teams only win and a further podium while Fewtrell found himself on the podium twice.

The move to this season saw none of the drivers return. Lundgaard graduated to Formula 2 where he joined ART for his debut season, Fewtrell moved to Hitech GP and Beckmann moved to Trident. The team saw no luck once again although their season improved. They were joined by French rookie Theo Pourchaire who claimed the title of the youngest Formula 3 driver to win a race with two wins and a further six podiums to his name. The team was also joined by Spanish driver Sebastian Fernandez and Russian driver Alexander Smolyar. ART finished 3rd once again with only Smolyar taking another podium.

Come back on Wednesday 5pm BST for another post, situated here on our website!