Teams at a Glance | Prema Racing Formula 2

Prema Powerteam, more commonly known as Prema Racing, are currently on top of the 2020 FIA Formula 2 Championship. The Italian team, founded in 1983, have competed in the variations of Formula 2 since 2016 where they debuted in the GP2 Series where they completed twenty two races, winning nine races with Pierre Gasly and Antonio Giovinazzi to take first and second in the drivers championship and first in the teams championship.

From there, the team debuted in the FIA Formula 2 Championship in 2017 where it was first created. The team was joined by Formula One’s Charles Leclerc and Antonio Fuoco. Leclerc took seven wins and a further three podiums while Fuoco took one win and a further four podiums to take the team to second in the teams championship. For the following year, Prema were joined by Formula E’s Nyck de Vries and Formula 2’s Sean Gelael where de Vries took tree wins and a further three podiums and Gelael took a single podium to take the team to fifth in the standings. There 2019 season was their worst as they were joined by Formula Two’s current champion Mick Schumacher and returning Sean Gelael to finish ninth in the standings. Schumacher took one win and it was the only podium for the team.

The move to this season saw the return of Mick Schumacher. Alongside the German driver, Formula 3’s 2019 Champion Robert Shwartzman was picked up by the team. Between the pair, Shwartzman has the most wins with three wins and a further two podiums while Schumacher has two wins and a further eight podiums. Schumacher currently leads the championship with 191 points and four races to go. Shwartzman, who lead the championship for a period of time sits in fifth with 140 points.

For a more detailed team profile, check out Prema Racing.