Teams at a Glance | ART Grand Prix Formula 2

ART Grand Prix joined GP2 back in 2005, with Nico Rosberg and Alexandre Prémat and during that time, they’ve gone on to win many championships. When GP2 changed to FIA Formula 2, they continued to race there, taking in many famous and successful drivers. Currently, they have Marcus Armstrong and Christian Lundgaard under their name to compete in the 2020 season.

For their first season in the second category, they had Nico Rosberg and Alexandre Prémat. Amazingly, they finished 1st with the teams, with Nico ending up 1st as well plus Alexandre finishing in 4th. Nico moved away, whilst Lewis Hamilton joined the team. Once again, the French team easily took 1st, where their drivers ended up 1st and 3rd. Come to 2007, they had an all new lineup with Lucas di Grassi and Sébastien Buemi, where he missed a couple rounds, thus therefore, replaced by Mikhail Aleshin and Michael Ammermueller. Collectively, they helped ART finish in 2nd with 87 points, whilst the best team result was di Grassi with 2nd. From 2008 to the end at 2016, the French team had various points finishes between the team’s standings and the driver’s: in 2009, ART and Nico Hülkenberg finished in 1st; Jules Bianchi finished in 3rd for two years in a row between 2010 and 2011, helping them reach 3rd in 2010 as well; Esteban Gutiérrez entered the team in 2011 and had a better season in 2012 to finish 3rd with the team coming 2nd with 336 points; James Calado coming 3rd; Stoffel Vandoorne finishing in 2nd followed by a 1st, whilst ART finished in 3rd and 1st; and for the final year, Sergey Sirotkin finished in 3rd.

For 2017, GP2 became FIA Formula 2, clarifying the road to Formula 1. For the inaugural season, ART brought in Nobuharu Matsushita and Alexander Albon, plus Sergey Sirotkin to cover in for one round. Matsushita finished in 6th with 131 points, earning 4 podiums where 2 were wins. Albon earned a podium to finish 10th. Together, the French team earned 222 points, putting them into 4th. ART had a brand new lineup for 2018, putting in George Russell and Jack Aitken into the seats. Russell had a wonder of a season to end up to finish on the podium 11 times, earing 7 wins. With 287 points under the bag, he pulled out ahead of Lando Norris and Alex Albon. Aitken wasn’t having the better season though, however, he did take a win and an extra podium. With a 1st and 11th for ART, they finished in 2nd with 350 points, only behind Carlin. Once again, 2019 provided a new team, this time it was Nyck de Vries and Nikita Mazepin. De Vries had been fighting Nicholas Latifi and Luca Ghiotto all season long for the title fight, despite taking 4 wins plus another 8 podiums. With Mazepin, they finished in 3rd with 277 points.

For the 2020 season, they promoted Formula 3 runner up Marcus Armstrong and also close competitor Christian Lundgaard. Current to prior the Bahrain rounds, Lundgaard sits in 4th behind Yuki Tsunoda, with 145 points, after claiming 2 wins and 4 other podiums. Armstrong has had a less than successful second half to the season, though claimed 2 podiums at the start to sit in 14th with 38 points. ART sit in 4th with 183 points. With two more rounds on the cards, it’ll be interesting to see where they manage to finish.

Come back on Wednesday 5pm BST like always for another post, situated here on our website!