Get to Know | Asian F3 | 12 Days of CTS

Formula 3 Asian Championship made its inital debut in 2001 and ran for 7 years, ending in 2008, until 2018, where it made its inaugural season once again. It is one of the many feeder series that help drivers get their way up to Formula 1, following the ladder. Like the European version that most people are familiar with, Asian Formula 3 is what it is described as, helping drivers obtain their career in the top tier in the Asian part of the world. Most teams competing are local too with them being from China or HOng Kong, but also the category is an appeal to European/American teams and drivers with their lower cost. Their most recent champion is Joey Alders, who raced with Blackarts Racing Team.

They follow a three-race structure

They follow a three-race structure, where two are held on the Saturday and the last on the Sunday. They have two qualifying sessions, where the first determines race one grid and the other for race three. The grid for race two is created by the best lap times in the first race. The qualifying session lasts 15 minutes and the races are 25 minutes long.

The cars provided are Tatuus design and built with the addition of the halo and improved side pod structure to withstand more damage. They also have six gears to drive with as they have a 6-shift gear box. The gearbox also is sequential, like the other feeder series.

Points System

Race Points

Points are not awarded for fastest lap or pole position like F1, F2 or F3. They’re only given by the races, which all three follow the same points system.

Super License Points

40 points are required for a driver to apply for a super license to drive in a Formula 1 team, or 25 for a free practice license, allowing them to drive with a Formula 1 team during the first free practice of the weekend.


They showcase a range of talents away from the European side of the feeder series ladder

In its short history, Formula 3 Asian has had many different drivers that have competed in the Asian side of the feeder series ladder. There have been drivers like Jake Hughes, Liam Lawson, Jamie Chadwick, Michael Belov and Tatiana Calderon. For 2021, 5 teams have already confirmed their entry to the championship: Absolute Racing, Abu Dhabi Racing, Evans GP, Hitech GP and Motorscape. Their calendar previously used to travel to places like Malaysia, China, Thailand and more, but because of Covid-19, it is significantly reduced so they are as follows:

Yas Marina Circuit22-23 January
Dubai Autodrome29-30 January
Yas Marina Circuit5-6 February
Dubai Autodrome12-13 February
Yas Marina Circuit19-20 February

We sincerely hope that this series may have grabbed your interests, especially as a relatively new series. It shows the talents outside the European areas as well, so it’s possible to see some of these drivers in the top categories soon!