Get to Know | French F4 | 12 Days of CTS

The French Formula 4, also once remembered as the Formula Renault Campus France and the F4 Eurocup, was founded in 1993 as a form of open wheel racing. It is based in France where it’s aimed at karting graduates from the likes of Formula Ford, ADAC Formel Masters and Formula Abarth. As apart of the championship, the champion will receive support in one of the Formula Renault championships. 2010 saw the rebrand where the series was made a part of the World Series by Renault but was dropped for 2011.

2018 saw the engine upgrade from a 1.6 Litre to a 2.0 litre

Similarly to a lot of other feeder series, French F4 runs across the Friday to Sunday where we see a free practise session on the Friday. Come the Saturday, we see a qualifying session first followed by a 25 minute race. On the final day, we see a second 25 minute race. The Saturday qualifying session determines the race order for the Saturday race while the second fastest time each driver makes determines the race order for the Sunday race.

The car was originally built by Signatech where the chassis had a carbon fibre composite monocoque construction. It runs a 1600cc Renault K4MRS engine which produces about 140hp with the transmission having five forward speeds. It was built to comply with the 2008 FIA F3 standards. For 2018, the championship adopted the FIA Formula 4 regulations where they went on to take the Mygale M14-F4 Chassis instead of the original Signatech and the Renault 2.0L engines.

Points System

Race Points

They have different points system for the three races per weekend. They are as follows:

Race 1 and 3


Race 2

Super License Points

40 points are required for a driver to apply for a super license to drive in a Formula 1 team, or 25 for a free practice license, allowing them to drive with a Formula 1 team during the first free practice of the weekend.


Many successful French drivers have climbed through the ranks past French F4

Over the years, we’ve seen drivers upon drivers walk away from this season with championships under their belt. Some of the most popular names you might notice who are still racing to this day are Formula E’s Jean-Eric Vergne who won the championship in 2007 and Stoffel Vandoorne who won in 2010. We also saw Antoine Hubert take the championship in 2013 on his single seater debut. Since the changes in 2018, we have seen Brazilian Caio Collet and French Driver Hadrian David take championships. This year saw Japanese Driver Ayumu Iwasa take the title.

With the championship being the French Formula 4, most races reside in France.

Paul Armagnac, Nogaro3-5 April
Magny-Cours7-9 May
Paul Ricard, Le Castellet25-27 June
Hungaroring, Mogyoród9-11 July
Lédenon27-29 August
Monza24-26 September
Paul Ricard, Le Castellet1-3 October

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s