Get to Know | British F4 | 12 Days of CTS

The British Formula 4, also once remembered as the MSA Formula, was founded in 2015 as a single seater motorsport series. It is based in United Kingdom where its administered by Motor Sport Association and runs on the FIA’s Formula 4 regulations. The British F4 replaced the British Formula Ford Championship where it is apart of the TOCA tour which is a series of events that run alongside the British Touring Car Championship.

Luke Browning took the title for 2020

Similarly to a lot of other feeder series, British F4 runs across the Friday to Sunday where we see a free practise session on the Friday. Come the Saturday, we see a qualifying session first followed by a 25 minute race. On the final day, we see a second 25 minute race. The Saturday qualifying session determines the race order for the Saturday race while the second fastest time each driver makes determines the race order for the Sunday race.

The chassis of the car is provided by Mygale and is a carbon-fibre monocoque. It runs a Ford 1.6L EcoBoost engine which is used in modern Formula Ford cars where its tuned to a maximum of 160 PS. The engines are prepared and tuned by Sodemo to lower the costs and ensure all of the engines are equal.

Point System

Race Points
Super License Points

The inaugural champion is now heading into his third formula one season

In the five years of the series running, we’ve seen some great names progress from the series. In 2015, the inaugural series, we saw Formula One driver Lando Norris take the championship. In that same year, we saw Formula Two’s Dan Ticktum fight for the title. The following year, we saw Formula Three driver Max Fewtrell win the championship. In 2017, we saw Jamie Caroline take the title against Formula Three’s Oscar Piastri and Logan Sargeant. Formula Three’s Dennos Hauger and Jack Doohan lost out on the 2018 title to Kiern Jewiss while Zane Maloney took the title in 2019. The current British Formula 4 Championship is held by Luke Browning.

With the championship being the British Formula 4, all of the events are held within the United Kingdom at some of the most iconic tracks: Donnington Park, Brands Hatch, Oulton Park, Knockhill Racing Circuit, Thruxton Circuit, Silverstone and Snetterton. The series is set to return to these tracks alongside Croft Circuit for the new season.

You can catch the British F4 live on

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s