Teams at a Glance | Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler have been competing in Formula E since 2014 when the season started. The German based team, founded by Johann Abt, has existed in motorsport since 1896 and is still going strong to this day.

The team began their Formula E journey in the sports inaugural season. They were joined by Brazilian driver Lucas di Grassi and German driver Daniel Abt. Their first season was a success as di Grassi took the first win of the championship and the team finished in third overall. The team took seven podiums in their first year and only saw out three retirements. Audi took their success into their second year as they saw out more podiums and finished second in the teams standings. As each year came, Audi improved as they took second once more in the 2015-16 season before taking the championship win during the 2017-18 season. They kept their positive streak into the 2018-19 season as the finished second once more but fell short in their most recent season as they took 6th.

Audi are one team who have kept the same driver line up throughout their entire career. The team have retained Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt from 2014 through until 2019. Audi soon went on to drop Abt in 2020 after it was addressed that he had cheated during an e sports race during quarantine. They replaced Abt with Rene Rast who finished off the season in the final rounds of Berlin.

Audi are looking to retain their drivers, Lucas di Grassi and Rene Rast, for the 2020-21 season. They’re set to debut in Diriyah in February and are in for a good chance of winning. di Grassi currently holds 10 wins and 32 podiums with the team while Rast holds a singular podium. With this season being Audi’s last Formula E season, they have poured everything into their car and have made it the most competitive they’ve felt they have.

You’ll soon be able to learn more about the team over on our website. Keep and eye on the site for more information.