Teams at a Glance | Dragon Penske Autosport

Dragon Penske Autosport was founded in 2007 by Jay Penske and Stephan J. Luczo where they fielded a one off entry in the 2007 Indianapolis 500 before sticking in the sport. They made the move to Indy lights in 2009. They continued into the Indy 500 in 2011 before joining Formula E for the inaugural season.

Dragon Racing’s first season was their best to date. They were joined by Jerome d’Ambrosio and Oriol Servia after Mike Conway was unable to make his debut. Servia only completed four race before being replaced by Loic Duval. The team took 171 points to finish second. From there on, they continued with Loic Duval and Jerome d’Ambrosio where they accumulated three podiums and a fourth in the championship. The team became Faraday Future Dragon Racing for the 2016/17 season where they dropped significantly. They continued with the same line up with Mike Conway completing one race in place of Duval and took eighth in the teams championship.

They reverted back to Dragon Racing for the 2017/18 season with d’Ambrosio and Neel Jani who was later replaced by Jose Maria Lopez. The team saw minimal improvement and placed ninth with one podium. The team returned for the 2018/19 season with Lopez under the name of GEOX Dragon. Lopez was joined by Maximilian Gunther who was replaced by Felipe Nasr for three races in the middle. The team deteriorated further that year and took 10th with eight retirements and four points finishes. They continued as GEOX Dragon for 2019/20 where they started out their season with Nico Mueller and Brendon Hartley. Hartley was replaced ahead of Berlin with rookie Sergio Sette Camara where they saw a singular points finish and left in 11th.

For the 2020/21 season, Dragon will see the name change to Dragon/Penske Autosport where they will be retaining Mueller and Sette Camara. With a combined race total of 18 between the pair, Dragon are hoping to put their second year drivers to the test.

For a more detailed team profile, check back to the website in the upcoming future.