ART Grand Prix

Name: ART Grand Prix
Founded: 1991
Based: Villeneuve-La-Guyard, Yonne, France
Founders: Frédéric Vasseur and Nicolas Todt
Team Principal: Frédéric Vasseur
Car Numbers: 5 and 6
Current Drivers: Marcus Armstrong and Christian Lundgaard

ART Grand Prix was created in 2005, based off the ASM F3 team by Frédéric Vasseur and Nicolas Todt. They compete in many championships including DTM, FIA Formula 2 Championship, FIA Formula 3 Championship and Formula Renault Eurocup.

Notable Drivers
– Sebastian Vettel
– Lewis Hamilton
– Nico Rosberg
– Esteban Ocon
– George Russell
– Alexander Albon
– Anthoine Hubert

FIA Formula 2
ART has competed in GP2/Formula 2 since 2005. It’s first drivers were Nico Rosberg and Alexandre Prémat, with Nico winning the championship and ART also winning the team’s. In the following year, Lewis Hamilton took Nico’s place and Alexandre returned. They placed 1st and 3rd respectively and won the championship. The 2007 season saw Lucas Di Grassi come runner-up in the championship and similarly with the team’s. ART had Formula 1 drivers such as, Romain Grosjean, in their lineup who ended up 4th in the standings during 2008, Nico Hülkenberg who won the championship in 2009, Jules Bianchi finishing 3rd in 2010 and 2011, Esteban Gutiérrez who also finished 3rd in 2012, Stoffel Vandoorne who finished 2nd in 2014 and 1st in 2015. Other drivers like James Calado who currently races in GT cars and Formula E finished 5th in 2012 and 3rd in 2013, Sam Bird now currently racing in Formula E and endurance racing classified 5th in 2010.

When FIA changed GP2 to Formula 2, ART still continued to race in the series. Their first drivers for the season in 2017 were Nobuharu Matsushita and Alexander Albon (and Sergey Sirotkin after he filled in Albon due to an incident.) Nobuharu finished 6th and Alex finished 10th in their first season with ART ending up 4th behind DAMS. Their following season had current Formula 1 driver George Russell lineup with Jack Aitken who was then a current Renault Academy driver. George ended up winning the championship ahead of Lando Norris and Alexander Albon, both also Formula 1 drivers. ART finished behind Carlin for the championship in 2nd.

The 2019 season had previous Prema driver Nyck de Vries and the debutant Nikita Mazepin. Nyck went on to clinch the championship ahead of Nicholas Latifi with 4 wins. Nikita finished 18th behind Sean Gelael.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

Christian Lundgaard and Marcus Armstrong raced against each other in Formula 3 during the 2019 season but this year they will be in the same team for Formula 2 driving for ART Grand Prix as rookies.