Campos Racing

Name: Campos Racing
Founded: 1997
Based: Valencia, Spain
Founder: Adrián Campos
Team Principal: Adrián Campos
Car Numbers: 9 and 10
Current Drivers: Jack Aitken and Guilherme Samaia

Adrián Campos moved into management of teams rather than driving himself and founded Campos Racing in 1997. His team first competed in Open Fortuna by Nissan. Since then, it has competed in a range of championships from Touring Cars to Formula 2. It has gained 9 team’s championships and 10 driver’s championships in its range of categories they have raced in.

Notable Drivers
– Marino Sato
– Lando Norris
– Lucas Di Grassi
– Rio Haryanto
– Roberto Merhi
– Jack Aitken

FIA Formula 2
Campos Racing competed during the GP2 series from 2005-2008 and 2014-2016. They had Argentinian Juan Cruz Álvarez and Spanish Sergio Hernández. They finished 18th and 20th respectively and 10th in the standings but this started a beginning for their career in Formula 2. 2007 provided a year where Giorgio Pantano achieved 3rd in the standings meaning Campos received a 3rd place trophy at the end of the year. Vitaly Petrov stayed for another year in 2007 to 2008 driving alongside Lucas di Grassi. Lucas classified 3rd and Vitaly was 7th meaning Campos won a team’s title.

They made their GP2 return with Arthur Pic and Kimiya Sato where they got 7th and 27th, gaining 6th position in the championship. In the following year, they kept Arthur Pic but swapped out Kimiya with Rio Haryanto. Rio achieved 4th and Arthur achieved 11th and with these results, Campos ended up 4th at the end of the season. In the final year of GP2, they had New Zealander Mitch Evans and Indonesian Sean Gelael. in 2016, they placed 12th and 15th, with Campos finishing 6th.

GP2 was changed into Formula 2 and Campos Racing joined the category’s inaugural season with Ralph Boschung and Stefano Coletti. Campos finished 9th in the standings. For the next season, they changed their lineup and had Luca Ghiotto and Roy Nissany (with Roberto Merhi replacing Roy in the final two rounds where he scored 20 points). Luca finished 8th and Roy finished 22nd, meaning Campos finished 5th.

The 2019 season had Jack Aitken and Dorian Boccolacci confirmed as the main drivers. Dorian however was replaced with Arjun Maini (except where Marino Sato took his seat prior Spa). Jack finished 5th in the standings, Dorian with 14th and Campos in 5th, meaning they take numbers 9 and 10 for the 2020 season.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

Jack Aitken rejoins Campos Racing with rookie Guilherme Samaia for the 2020 season, with them taking 9 and 10 respectively.