Name: Carlin
Founded: 1996
Based: Farnham, Surrey, England
Founders: Trevor Carlin and Martin Stone
Team Principal: Trevor Carlin
Car Numbers: 7 and 8
Current Drivers: Yuki Tsunoda and Jehan Daruvala

Carlin Motorsport was founded in 1996 by Trevor Carlin and Martin Stone, where they competed in many championships as a team. Their most notable feat is having many drivers from their previous past making it to top championships line IndyCar and Formula 1, such as Lando Norris, Daniel Ricciardo and so on. In 2009, it had a major restructuring to become just Carlin. They have 7 team’s championships and 20 driver’s championships under their belts across many different categories, showing the strong nature of their team.

Notable Drivers
– Sebastian Vettel
– Jean-Éric Vergne
– Daniel Ricciardo
– Lando Norris
– Josef Newgarden
– Oliver Turvey
– Robert Wickens

FIA Formula 2
Carlin started in GP2 during the 2011 season. Their first drivers had Max Chilton, Mikhail Aleshin, Oliver Turvey and Álvaro Parente. Álvaro finished the highest in 16th. Max Chilton returned for another year and achieved 4th. 2013 had Felipe Nasr and Jolyon Palmer, where they got 4th and 7th respectively. Together they achieved 2nd for Carlin. Felipe stayed on for another year and classified 3rd bringing Carlin to 2nd once again. The next two seasons had drivers like Marvin Kirchhöfer and Louis Delétraz driving.

Even though GP2 changed to Formula 2 in 2017, they took a year out, but arriving back into Formula 2 in 2018 with Sérgio Sette Câmara and Lando Norris. Sérgio finished 6th and Lando finished 2nd meaning they won the team’s championship ahead of Virtuosi.

For the 2019 season, they had Louis Delétraz and Nobuharu Matsushita as their drivers. They raced as 1 and 2 for winning the previous season’s championship. Louis finished 8th, coming 2nd in Monaco and Silverstone sprint race and 3rd in Monza sprint race. He finished ahead of Jordan King and behind Guanyu Zhou. Nobuharu Matsushita won 2 races in Red Bull Ring feature race and Monza feature race. Nobuharu finished 6th in the standings behind Jack Aitken. Their combined efforts meant they came 3rd in the standings, taking the car numbers 7 and 8.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

Yuki Tsunoda was confirmed as the first driver for Carlin, making a step up from his Formula 3 career. He’ll be joined alongside Jehan Daruvala taking number 7 and 8 respectively.