MP Motorsport

Name: MP Motorsport
Founded: 1995
Based: Westmaas, Netherlands
Founders: Sander Dorsman
Team Principal: Sander Dorsman
Car Numbers: 14 and 15
Current Drivers: Nobuharu Matsushita and Felipe Drugovich

Sander Dorsman founded MP Motorsport in 1995. It is a Dutch racing team that competes in many different categories of Formula racing. Their first championship they competed in was Benelux Formula Ford 1800 and Dutch Formula 1800. Since then, they compete in many younger categories like Formula 2 and Formula 3 Asian. They have claimed 3 team’s championships and 7 driver’s championships.

Notable Drivers
– Oliver Rowland
– Richard Verschoor
– Marco Sørensen
– Nicholas Latifi

FIA Formula 2
MP Motorsport started their career in GP2, driving in 2013. They had Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (until he replaced Robin Frijns so Dani Clos replaced him) and Daniël de Jong. The combined points meant MP Motorsport finished 10th in the standings. Daniël de Jong was retained for the following year and Marco Sørensen joined alongside him, getting 28th and 11th respectively. In the next year, they changed both drivers multiple times, but the two first confirmed were  Sergio Canamasas and Daniël de Jong. Sergio gained the highest position in the 2015 season with 11th. For the final GP2 season, they kept Daniël de Jong but had Oliver Rowland. Oliver was on the podium 4 times, with a second and 3 thirds meaning he got 107 points. He classified 9th in the final standings and Daniël finished 21st.

When GP2 became F2, they had Jordan King and Sérgio Sette Câmara as their first two drivers. They finished 11th and 12th respectively in the championship with MP Motorsport in 7th. The following year they had Roberto Merhi (who was replaced by Dorian Boccolacci) and Ralph Boschung (who was replaced by Niko Kari). The team finished 8th in the championship.

In the most recent championship, they had Jordan King and Mahaveer Raghunathan. Jordan King was replaced by Artem Markelov when he had to compete in Indy 500. Mahaveer was replaced for a round by Patricio O’Ward after he incurred 12 penalty points. Jordan finished 8th and Mahaveer finished 20th. MP Motorsport finished 7th.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Championship

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

MP Motorsport have announced that Nobuharu Matsushita will be joining them for his 5th year in F2 and for Felipe Drugovich’s first year. Together, they will be MP’s 8th year in GP2/F2.