Prema Racing

Name: Prema Racing
Founded: 1983
Based: Grisignano di Zocco, Italy
Founders: Angelo Rosin and Giorgio Piccolo
Team Principal: Angelo Rosin and Rene Rosin
Car Numbers: 21 and 22
Current Drivers: Mick Schumacher and Robert Shwartzman

Prema originally started in Italian Formula Three Championship during the 1984 season. Now they compete in a range of championships like FIA Formula 2, FIA Formula 3, Formula Regional European, ADAC Formula 4 and Italian Formula 4. They have links to Ferrari and Mercedes and are often bringing up drivers from the Ferrari Driver Academy, for example, Marcus Armstrong, Callum Ilott, Robert Shwartzman, Charles Leclerc and Enzo Fittipaldi.

Notable Drivers
– Charles Leclerc
– Pierre Gasly
– Antonio Giovinazzi
– Lance Stroll
– Felix Rosenqvist
– Robert Kubica
– Esteban Ocon

FIA Formula 2
Prema joined GP2 (now known as Formula 2) in 2016 with Pierre Gasly and Antonio Giovinazzi, with both getting 1st and 2nd respectively. In their first season, they won the team’s championship.

When FIA changed it to Formula 2, Antonio Fuoco and Charles Leclerc were announced as the drivers. Charles ended up as champion that year and Antonio classifying as 8th. Prema finished 2nd in the standings behind Russian Time.

In the following year, Nyck de Vries and Sean Gelael with Nyck as 4th behind Alexander Albon. Sean finished 15th behind Maximilian Günther. Carlin had finished 1st in the standings with Prema in 5th.

In the most recent season, they had Mick Schumacher and Sean Gelael as their drivers. Mick ended up 12th and Sean finished 17th and together Prema finished 9th. This means their driver numbers for the next season would be 20 and 21.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

It was confirmed that Mick and Robert were partnering with each other for the 2020 Formula 2 season. This is their second time together, after previously being in the same team during Formula 3 European’s 2018 season.