Name: UNI-Virtuosi Racing (previously known as Virtuosi UK)
Founded: 2012
Based: Attleborough, Norfolk
Founders: Paul Devlin
Team Principal: Andy Roche
Car Numbers: 3 and 4
Current Drivers: Guanyu Zhou and Callum Ilott

Virtuosi previously ran in the Auto GP series, in addition to running the Russian Time outfit in Formula 2. In 2012, Virtuosi signed GP2 Series driver Pål Varhaug and team mates European F3 Open driver Matteo Beretta and Formula Renault 3.5 Series driver Sten Pentus before they were replaced by Auto GP veteran Francesco Dracone. Varhaug finished as runner-up in the drivers standing, bringing Virtuosi to fourth place in the team standings. Heading into 2013, the team signed Andrea Roda, FIA European Formula 3 Championship Graduate, and Max Snegirev who had previously raced with Campos Racing. The drivers for the season failed to to achieve any podium finishes, leaving Virtuosi in seventh for the teams’ standings.

2014 was a brighter season, the team finishing as runners up with their first win since 2012; Roda winning the reverse grid race at Spielberg. In 2015, Virtuosi replaced iSport International in the management of Russian Time team in the GP2 series. Virtuosi competed in the GP2 series from 2015 to 2016 before moving into FIA Formula 2 in 2017. Their 2015 watched them come out as 5th in the teams’ championship with drivers Mitch Evans placing 5th in the Drivers’ championship, claiming two wins and three fastest laps, and Artem Markelov placing 13th in the Drivers’ championship. Their second season showed a minor improvement, Mitch Evans moving to Campos Racing and Raffaele Marciello taking his seat.

Although Marciello managed to not take home a win, he still placed 4th in the drivers championship with team mate Markelov placing 10th with one win and three fastest laps. Virtuosi claimed 3rd overall in the team championship. With the withdrawal of Russian Time in 2018, the team continued on under its new name UNI-Virtuosi Racing for the 2019 series.

Notable Drivers
– Mitch Evans
– Artem Markelov
– Raffaele Marciello
– Luca Ghiotto

FIA Formula 2
Before changing to UNI-Virtuosi Racing in late 2018, for the 2017 and 2018 season they raced under the name Russian Time. In 2017, Markelov remained with the team for a fourth season with Ghiotto joining the team after making his move from Trident. Combined, the pair managed to bring home six wins and the first teams’ title in the history of FIA Formula 2 Championship. For 2018, they kept Markelov and hired European Formula 3 Driver Tadasuke Makino in place of Ghiotto and managed to take home fourth in the team standings with Markelov placing fifth in the drivers standings with three wins. Makino managed one win but finished outside of the top ten. Russian Time was then sold, becoming UNI-Virtuosi.

Under their first year with the new name, they announced their first driver to be Guanyu Zhou and the return of Luca Ghiotto to complete the driver line up. Ghiotto finished third for the season, collecting two pole positions, two fastest laps and four wins. Guanyu Zhou was also awarded the Anthoine Hubert Award, which was introduced in 2019 after the loss of fellow F2 Driver Anthoine Hubert, which was presented to the best rookie of the season by Anthoine’s brother, Victhor. Zhou had achieved five podiums, one pole and two fastest laps in his maiden career scoring a total of 140 points and plassing seventh in the Championship, leaving UNI-Virtuosi to claim second in the Teams’ Championships.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

Coming off of a strong season, UNI-Virtuosi will be racing car numbers Three and Four with Guanyu Zhou returning for his second year with the team while Luca Ghiotto has moved to race with the newest team on the grid, Hitech Grand Prix. Zhou will be joined by Callum Ilott who has made the move from Sauber Junior Team by Charouz after placing eleventh in the drivers championship and taking home two podiums.