ART Grand Prix

Name: ART Grand Prix
Founded: 1991
Based: Villeneuve-La-Guyard, Yonne, France
Founders: Frédéric Vasseur and Nicolas Todt
Team Principal: Frédéric Vasseur
Car Numbers: 7, 8 and 9
Current Drivers: Theo Pourchaire, Alexander Smolyar and Sebastian Fernandez

ART Grand Prix was created in 2005, based off the ASM F3 team by Frédéric Vasseur and Nicolas Todt. They compete in many championships including DTM, FIA Formula 2 Championship, FIA Formula 3 Championship and Formula Renault Eurocup.

After ART was formed, the team went on to win five straight team titles from 2005 to 2009 and won the drivers championships with Lewis Hamilton, Paul di Resta, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hülkenberg and Jules Bianchi. The team decided in 2019 that they would make their return to the Formula Renault Eurocup after ASM’s years competing where they entered with Grégoire Saucy and Mercedes junior Paul Aron. They spent 2005 through to 2016 competing in the GP2 series, 2008 to 2011 in the GP2 Asia Series and 2015 – 2016 in the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters. Across the three series, they took five teams’ titles.

ART launched an entry into Formula one to fill the 13th slot in 2011 while also announcing to fade out of Formula 3 to focus on GP3. They were set to be the 13th team in F1 however, they withdrew their bid due to problems. The team is provided technical support in the LMP1 Class of the 2018 FIA World Endurance Championship for the SMP Racing team.

Notable Drivers
– Sebastian Vettel
– Lewis Hamilton
– Nico Rosberg
– Esteban Ocon
– George Russell
– Alexander Albon
– Anthoine Hubert

FIA Formula 3
ART Grand Prix were well known for their dominance in all of their Formula 3 entries. They started out by racing in the Formula 3 Euro series in 2003 where they were non applicable for points during their first two years although Olivier Pla finished first in the drivers standings in 2003 while Jamie Green won in 2004 with teammate Alexandre Prémat as the runner up.

2005 was their first year racing for points with Lewis Hamilton and Adrian Sutil. Hamilton won 15 races, taking 8 poles and 10 fastest laps to win 1st in the drivers standings while Sutil won twice with 1 pole and 3 fastest laps to finish as runner up, putting ART in 1st. Through out 2006 to 2009, the team continuously won the teams’ championship with Paul di Resta winning the drivers championship in 2006 with Sebastian Vettel as runner up, Romain Grosjean placing first in 2007 with Nico Hulkenberg in 3rd, Hulkenberg winning in 2008 with Jules Bianchi in 3rd and Bianchi winning in 2009 with Valtteri Bottas in 3rd. In 2010 the team came second in the standings with Bottas placing 3rd.

The team debuted in the GP3 series in 2010 where they raced through until 2018 before the championship changed. They won every year bar 2014 when they finished 2nd with Marvin Kirchhöfer placing third. Drivers championship winners included Esteban Gutierrez in 2010, Valtteri Bottas in 2011, Esteban Ocon in 2015 and Charles Leclerc in 2016.

Their final two years in GP3 were dominated by the team with George Russell placing first in 2017 followed by Jack Aitken in second, Nirei Fukuzumi in third and Anthoine Hubert in fourth, leaving the top four completely ART. In 2018, Hubert dominated the year to finish first with teammate Nikita Mazepin finishing second and their other team mate, Callum Ilott finishing third leaving the top three ART once again.

However when the championship moved to FIA Formula 3, their luck ran short as they finished 3rd in the team standings. Christian Lundgaard and Max Fewtrell raced with the team for 16 races while David Beckmann raced in 14; leaving Lundgaard in 5th, Fewtrell in 10 and Beckmann in 14th.

2020 FIA Formula 3

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

For their 2020 season in FIA Formula 3, the team will be joined by two rookies, French driver Theo Pourchaire and Russian Alexander Smolyar in cars 7 and 8, and the return of Spanish driver Sebastian Fernandez.