Carlin Buzz Racing

Name: Carlin
Founded: 1996
Based: Farnham, Surrey, England
Founders: Trevor Carlin and Martin Stone
Team Principal: Trevor Carlin
Car Numbers: 26, 27 and 28
Current Drivers: Clement Novalak, Ben Barnicoat and Cameron Das

Carlin Motorsport was founded in 1996 by Trevor Carlin and Martin Stone, where they competed in many championships as a team. Their most notable feat is having many drivers from their previous past making it to top championships line IndyCar and Formula 1, such as Lando Norris, Daniel Ricciardo and so on. In 2009, it had a major restructuring to become just Carlin. They have 7 team’s championships and 20 driver’s championships under their belts across many different categories, showing the strong nature of their team.

Notable Drivers
– Sebastian Vettel
– Carlos Sainz Jr.
– Jean-Éric Vergne
– Daniel Ricciardo
– Lando Norris
– Josef Newgarden
– Oliver Turvey
– Robert Wickens

FIA Formula 3
Carlin began competeing in the British Formula 3 Championship in 1997 where they achieved their first victory with Narain Karthikeyan in 1999. They are known as the most successful team in British F3 due to their 9 championship wins with Takuma Sato in 2001, Alan van der Merwe in 2003, Álvaro Parente in 2005, Jaime Alguersuari in 2008, Daniel Ricciardo in 2009, Jean-Éric Vergne in 2010, Felipe Nasr in 2011, Jack Harvey in 2012, Jordan King in 2013 and Enaam Ahmen in 2017.

Carlin made the move to Formula 3 Euro Series in 2008 but received poor results in their first three seasons. They also entered in the 2012 FIA European Formula 3 Championship where Sainz finished fifth.

They continued to race in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship where Harry Tincknell finished fifth and Jordan King sixth in 2013 and Antonio Giovinazzi as a runner-up in 2015 with George Russell finishing sixth.

The team have entered the Macau Grand Prix since 1998 with Sato winning in 2001, Robert Kubica placing second in 2005, Sébastien Buemi placing fourth in 2006 and Brendon Hartley placing third in 2008. Their luck didn’t finish there as Felipe NAsr placed second in 2001, António Félix da Costa placing first in 2012 and again in 2016 and Giovinazzi placing fourth in 2015.

Carlin entered the FIA Formula 3 in 2019 with the partnership of Japanese investment firm Buzz to create Carlin Buzz Racing. Tepperi Natori, Felipe Drugovich and Logan Sargent raced for the team and placed 24th, 16th and 19th.

2020 FIA Formula 3 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

For their 2020 season, Carlin Buzz Racing have a full rookie line up with Clement Novalak, Enaam Ahmed and Cameron Das racing in cars number 26, 27 and 28.

Enaam Ahmed was originally announced for car 27, but with him and his sponsors parted ways with the British team. Barnicoat was called in as the replacement.