Hitech Grand Prix

Name: Hitech Grand Prix
Founded: 2002
Based: Silverstone, United Kingdom
Founders: Dennis Rushen and David Hayle
Team Principal: Oliver Oakes
Car Numbers: 4, 5 and 6
Current Drivers: Max Fewtrell, Liam Lawson and Dennis Hauger

Hitech Grand Prix, formerly known as Hitech Racing, are a British motor racing team that was founded by Dennis Rushen and David Hayle in 2002. They started out by racing in British Formula 3 in 2003 but also competed in the South African Formula 3 Series which was originally known as Formula 3 Sudamericana. Hitech now race in the FIA Formula 3 and F3 Asian Championship. During 2019, Hitech operated cars in both the W Series and the 2019 FIA Motorsport Games Formula 4 Cup.

In 2004, Hitech partnered with Piquet Sports where they entered the GP2 Series. As of 2007, the team now enters as Minardi Piquet Sports.

2015 was the year Hitech Racing changed to Hitech Grand Prix, making a guest appearance to the final two rounds of the FIA F3 European Championship with Formula E Driver Alex Sims. Hitech also provided a full race operation package to W Series in 2019.

As of 2020, Hitech now race two cars in the FIA Formula 2 Championship.

Notable Drivers
–  Jüri Vips
– George Russell
– Nikita Mazepin
– Felipe Guimarães
– Lucas Di Grassi

FIA Formula 3
Hitech started out racing cars in Formula 3 with drivers Danny Watts and Eric Salignon where they claimed five pole positions and six podium finishes in their debut year. Watts claimed a win at Castle Combe, managing 5th in the standings. Driver Andrew Thompson also helped contribute Hitech also competed in the Korea Super Prix with Richard Antinucci claiming the teams first international race win. During their second season in 2004, Thompson joined the team full time with Marko Asmer, James Walker and Formula E Driver Lucas Di Grassi. Di Grassi claimed eight in the standings after taking home two wins followed by a podium finish at his debut in the Macau Grand Prix.

For the 2005 Season, Asmer stayed and they welcome Formula BMW driver Tim Bridgman. Asmer proved he was top with no less than five second places and took fourth in the championship. After an unsuccessful 2006, Hitech and Asmer took the title after scoring 11 poles, 11 wins and 9 fastest laps.

In 2012, Hitech welcomed Brazilian driver Felipe Guimarães who took four wins and two poles in the Formula Three Sudamericana series, claiming fourth. He continued to race for the team in both the Formula 3 Brazil Open and the Formula Three Sudamericana series in 2013, winning 13 races and 7 poles followed by 12 fastest laps. Guimarães claimed first in both of the championships. They returned to Formula 3 Brazil Open with Guimarães to defend his title, managing to become back to back champion with his teammate, Victor Franzoni, finishing second.

Full of hope, Hitech joined forces with ART Grand Prix to make a full season in the FIA F3 European Championship with Formula One driver George Russell, Ben Barnicoat and FIA Formula Two Nikita Mazepin.

Heading into 2019, Hitech was represented by Jüri Vips in the new FIA Formula 3 Championship where the team finished second behind Prema Racing.

2020 FIA Formula 3

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

For their 2020 season, Hitech Grand Prix will be racing car’s number four, five and six after finishing second with drivers Max Fewtrell, Liam Lawson and rookie, Dennis Hauger.