Jenzer Motorsport

Name: Jenzer Motorsport
Founded: 1993
Based: Lyss, Switzerland
Founders: Andreas Jenzer
Team Principal: Andreas Jenzer
Car Numbers: 20, 21 and 22
Current Drivers: Calan Williams, Federico Malvestiti and Matteo Nannini

The team was founded in 1993 by Andreas Jenzer who raced in his own team i nthe German Formula Ford 1800 Championship. In the same year, Hans Pfeuti took the first title for the team in the Swiss Formula Ford 1800 Championship before the team repeated its success from 1995 to 1998 and 2000. In 2000, the team made the switch to the Formula Renault world where they debuted in the French formula Renault Championship. In the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 series, Marc Benz, Neel Jani and Michael Ammermüller each finished runner up in 2001, 2002 and 2005. They took the German Formula Renault title in 2003 with Ryan Sharp while they won the drivers titleswith Dani Clos in 2006 and Pål Varhaug in 2008 in the Italian Formula Renault Championship. They also raced in the Formula Abarth Championship, the Formula Piolta China Championship, the Formula Renault 2.0 Suisse, Italia and WEC Championships, the International Formula Master, the Formula Renault V6 Eurocup and the Formula Renault 3.5 Series.

Jenzer made the decision in 2009 to leave Formula Renault and International Formula Masters to focus on the new Formula Abarth and GP3 Series. They returned to Formula Renault 2.0 in 2013 but left after their second season to focus on Italian Formula 4 and the ADAC Formula 4. Since 2014, out of their six seasons in the Italian F4, they have finished 3rd in the drivers standings three times and second once with Marcos Siebert taking the drivers championship in 2016 and Ali Al-Khalifa and Job van Uitert finishing runners up in 2014 and 2017.

Notable Drivers
– Andreas Estner
– Pål Varhaug
– Nico Muller
– Arjun Maini
– Juan Manuel Correa
– David Beckmann
– Tatiana Calderon

FIA Formula 3
Jenzer entered to GP3 series in 2010 with Nico Müller and Pål Varhaug full time with Müller taking two wins and a pole position for the team and Varhaug taking another win, placing them 3rd and 13th in the standings. The two were joined by Simon Trummer for 14 races and Marco Barba for two races, placing the team 3rd in the teams’ championship. Their luck dropped the following year as Müller returned with Maxim Zimin full time alongside Vittorio Ghirelli for twelve races, Christophe Hurni for two races and Alex Fontana for a following two. Müller was the only driver to take a win and the team finished 7th overall.

2012 was a better year as the team finished 4th with Patric Niederhauser and Robert Visoiu, Niederhauser taking a win for the team. Niederhauser returned for another year with Fontana and Samin Gomez however, neither driver won a race and the team finished 7th. Varhaug returned for the next two years alongside Matheo Tuscher in 2014 and 2015 and Ralph Boschung but they only finished 7th and 8th in the team standings. 2017 was the year it looked up for the team as they finished 3rd in the team standings with Alessio Lorandi, Arjun Maini and Juan Manuel Correa before finishing 5th in the following year that ended up being the last year of GP3.

The team headed into the 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship that took over the GP3 with Yuki Tsunoda and Andreas Estner full time. The two were joined by Giorgio Carrara for 8 races and Artem Petrov, Hon Chio Leong and Federico Malvestiti for 2 races each that saw the team sit at 7th in the standings.

2020 FIA Formula 3 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

For the 2020 season, Jenzer will see the return of Federico Malvestiti in car 21 who will be joined by two rookies, Calan Williams in car 20 and Matteo Nannini in car 22.