MP Motorsport

Name: MP Motorsport
Founded: 1995
Based: Westmaas, Netherlands
Founders: Sander Dorsman
Team Principal: Sander Dorsman
Car Numbers: 17, 18 and 19
Current Drivers: Richard Verschoor, Bent Viscaal and Lukas Dunner

Sander Dorsman founded MP Motorsport in 1995. It is a Dutch racing team that competes in many different categories of Formula racing. Their first championship they competed in was Benelux Formula Ford 1800 and Dutch Formula 1800. Since then, they compete in many younger categories like Formula 2 and Formula 3 Asian. They have claimed 3 team’s championships and 7 driver’s championships. The team have competed in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship since 2008, placing second in the team standings for the last two years. They took a year out in 2016.

The team have also competed in Formula 4 Championships like the F4 Spanish Championship and the SMP F4 Championship. They are the team champions in the F4 Spanish Championship for 2016, 2017 and 2018 with Richard Verschoor, Christian Lundgaard and Amaury Cordeel. Verschoor and Lundgaard also won the SMP F4 Championship in 2016 and 2017.

Notable Drivers
– Oliver Rowland
– Richard Verschoor
– Marco Sørensen
– Nicholas Latifi
– Nobuharu Matsushita

FIA Formula 3
The team expanded to the GP3 Series where they replaced DAMS in 2018. They signed up with Dorian Boccolacci, Devlin DeFrancesco and Niko Kari who were accompanied by Will Palmer in the first round. Boccolacci took a single win, pole and fastest lap for the team in his ten races, collecting 58 points to place him 10th. He was the only driver on the team to win a race. Richard Verschoor also raced with the team for 8 races. Christian Lundgaard and Jehan Daruvala also joined the team for two races each. MP Motorsport finished fourth in the teams’ championship that year.

Outside of Europe, the team entered the 2020 Asian F3 Championship with Amaury Cordeel for three races.

In 2019, GP3 made the switch to the FIA Formula 3 championship where they entered alonside Liam Lawson, Richard Verschoor and Simo Laaksonen. Lawson took two podiums for the team while Verschoor took a fastest lap. The team placed 6th in the team standings with 77 points.

2020 FIA Formula 3 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

For their 2020 season, the Dutch team are joined by two Dutch drivers with Richard Verschoor in car number 17 and Bent Viscaal in car number 18 alongside Austrian driver Lukas Dunner in car 19.