Prema Racing

Name: Prema Racing
Founded: 1983
Based: Grisignano di Zocco, Italy
Founders: Angelo Rosin and Giorgio Piccolo
Team Principal: Angelo Rosin and Rene Rosin
Car Numbers:
Current Drivers:

Prema originally started in Italian Formula Three Championship during the 1984 season. Now they compete in a range of championships like FIA Formula 2, FIA Formula 3, Formula Regional European, ADAC Formula 4 and Italian Formula 4. They have links to Ferrari and Mercedes and are often bringing up drivers from the Ferrari Driver Academy, for example, Marcus Armstrong, Callum Ilott, Robert Shwartzman, Charles Leclerc and Enzo Fittipaldi.

Notable Drivers
– Charles Leclerc
– Pierre Gasly
– Antonio Giovinazzi
– Lance Stroll
– Felix Rosenqvist
– Robert Kubica
– Esteban Ocon

FIA Formula 3
Prema made their debut in the Formula 3 category by competing in the inaugural Formula 3 Euro series in 2003. Their first 4 drivers were: Robert Kubica, who finished 12th; Ryan Briscoe, who finished 1st; Lucas di Grassi, who finished 21st and Katsuyuki Hiranaka, who finished in 22nd. Despite these results, they finished in 3rd place. For the following year, they kept Katsuyuki Hiranka and signed on Franck Perera, Roberto Streit and Kohei Hirate. Franck achieved the highest of the group in 8th with 48 points. Prema finished once again in 3rd. For the 2005 season, they opted for 3 cars this time, keeping Franck Perera but adding Marco Bonanomi and Gregory Franchi. They finished 4th, 11th and 17th respectively, meaning Prema finished in 3rd. For the next 5 years, Prema’s best finish was 4th, with the likes of drivers such as: Renger van der Zande, Daniel Juncadella and Michael Patrizi. 2011 provided the restart of their top 3 results, finishing in 1st with Roberto Merhi, who won the championship; Daniel Juncadella, who came 3rd and Gianmarco Raimondo, who finished in 11th position. For the final round of Formula 3 Euro Series, they once again won the championship, including Daniel Juncadella winning it with 240 points. This was followed by Raffaele Marciello finishing in 3rd, Sven Müller finishing in 6th and Michael Lewis who finished in 8th.

Also during 2012, the inaugral season of Formula 3 European championship was held, having the same drivers as the Euro series. Daniel Juncadella won the title with Raffaele Marciello as the runner up. For the next 6 years, Prema won every teams championship. They had Raffaele Marciello again, who finished 1st; Alex Lynn, who finished 2nd; Lucas Auer, who finished 4th and Eddie Cheever III, who finished 13th. The next year, they had the champion Esteban Ocon, who won 9 races. The following season’s best drivers were Swede Felix Rosenqvist and British Jake Dennis. They finished 1st and 3rd respectively. 2016 provided a new lineup besides Nick Cassidy. Lance Stroll won the series with Maximilian Günther in second, Nick Cassidy in 4th and Ralf Aron in 8th. For the 2018 season, they had a brand new lineup of Guanyu Zhou, Callum Ilott, Maximilian Günther and Mick Schumacher. The best 2 drivers was Günther who finished 3rd and Ilott who finished 4th. For the final Formula 3 European season, they had New Zealander Marcus Armstrong, Russian Robert Shwartzman, Estonian Ralf Aron, Chinese Guanyu Zhou and German Mick Schumacher. Mick finished 1st in the main standings with Robert in 3rd, however he did win the rookie championship.

With Formula 3 European and GP3 merging together to create Formula 3 Championship, Prema once again competed, this time their first lineup being Robert Shwartzman, Marcus Armstrong and Jehan Daruvala. They finished 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively, with Prema dominating the championship in 1st.

2020 FIA Formula 3 Season

Pre-Season Bahrain Testing 2020

For the 2020 season, they will be competing in FIA Formula 3 Championship, driving cars 1, 2 and 3 after winning the championship previously. They have promoted Formula Regional champion from their own roster, Frederik Vesti and Formula Renault Eurocup champion, Oscar Piastri. Logan Sargeant will be making his second season in the Formula 3 cars, this time with Prema Racing.