Neel Jani

Name: Neel Jani
Born: December 8th 1983
Nationality: Swiss
Team: TAG Heuer Prosche
Car Number: 18

Jani started out in karting in 1998 where he karted for two years before being promoted to the 2000 Lista Junior Meisterschaft Formel A. He took 12 podiums out of 12 races with 8 being wins and finished first in the standings. Neel went on to compete in the 2000 and 2001 Formula Renault 2.0 France. In his first year, he managed to finish 24th while in his second year, he finished 19th in the standings. In 2001, he also entered the Formula Renault 2.0 and Eurocup where he finished 19th and 24th. He returned to the Formula Renault 2.0 Italy in 2002 when he also competed in the Swiss version, placing 17th and 10th. Alongside these, Jani raced with KMS Motorsport in the Formula 3 Austria Series where he took 2 podiums out of his two races, one being a win, and finished 5th. Neel also returned to the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup in 2002 where he took 2 podiums and 3 wins with Jenzer Motorsport to finish as runner up in the championship. He took another second in the standings in 2003 when he joined Jenzer once more in the Formula Renault V6 Eurocup. He took 12 podiums, of which 4 were wins.

In 2004, Jani raced with DAMS in the FIA GT but didn’t qualify for points. He also returned back to the Formula Renault V6 Eurocup with DAMS where he finished 4th with 8 podiums, of which half were wins. He proceeded to graduate to the GP2 Series in 2005 with Racing Engineering where he finished 7th in the standings with only two wins. He later returned to the series with Arden International for four races in 2006. Heading into 2007, Neel raced with PKV Racing in the Champ Car World Series. He took 3 podiums and 9th in the standings. He then made the move to the Porsche Supercup in 2008 with Porsche AG but didn’t qualify for points.

Between 2005 and 2006, Neel debuted in the A1GP with Team Switzerland where he took 10 podiums and a further race win to place as runner up in the standings. He continued in the series in 2006 to 2007 with the team but only managed a single win in his second year and 8th in the standings. He returned again for a luckier season in the 2007 to 2008 series where he took 11 podiums, where 4 were wins, and won the championship. From there, Neel completed the 2008 to 2009 series where he finished second with 4 wins and 3 podiums.

Neel debuted in endurance when he joined Speedy Racing Team Sebah for the LMP1 Class of the Le Mans 24 Hours in 2009. He managed to finish 12th in his rookie year. He returned again in 2010 with Rebellion Racing but didn’t manage to finish. He also raced with the team in the LMP1 LE Mans Series in 2010 where he finished 5th. Alongside this, Neel joined Olympiacos in the Superleague Formula where he took 4th and the FIA GT1 World Championship with Matech Competition where he placed 33rd. Jani returned to the LMP1 Class in 2011 where he finished 6th with Rebellion. He also raced in the Superleague Formula with Belgium RSC Anderlecht where he placed 5th with two podiums. Neel went on to debut in both the LMP1 American Le Mans Series and Intercontinental Le Mans Cup with Rebellion. He also raced with the team at the LMP1 Le Mans Series where he placed 3rd.

He continued to compete in the LMP1 Class of the Le Mans 24h in 2012, 2013 and 2014 where he took 4th and 7th, managing not to finish in his final year. He also returned as a guest in 2012 to the American Le Mans and the LMP1 FIA World Endurance Championship. Jani also competed in the FIA World Endurance Championship with Rebellion where he finished 4th. He competed in the championship again in 2013 but dropped down to finish 16th. Jani also proceeded to take his first victory in the LMP1 American Le Mans Series where he won a race before taking a podium in the further three to finish second in the standings.

In 2014, Jani joined Porsche for the FIA World Endurance Driver’s Championship where he took 117 points and 3rd in the standings. He competed once again in 2015 but still remained 3rd. Alongside this, Neel competed in the 2015 LMP1 FIA World Endurance Championship where he finished 3rd once more. Heading into 2016, he joined Porsche in the LMP1 FIA World Endurance Championship where he went on to take the title. From there, Jani raced in the 2017 LMP FIA World Endurance Drivers Championship to finish 4th and the 2017 Prototype IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship where he finished 26th.

Between 2018 and 2019, he competed in the LMP World Endurance and the LMP1 FIA World Endurance but only managed to take 5th in the LMP. Then, in 2019, Jani raced in the Gerry Marshall Trophy where he finished first.

Jani joined Sauber as a test driver for Formula One in 2004 before sticking with Red Bull and joining them as a test driver in 2005. He then made the move to Scuderia Toro Rosso in 2006 for his final year as a Formula One Test Driver.

FIA Formula E
Jani made his debut in FIA Formula E when he joined Dragon Racing in the 2017 to 2018 season where he finished 25th in the standings after only two races.

He currently races with TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team in the 2019 to 2020 season where, after five races, he currently sits at 23rd with zero points. He races alongside his team mate, Andre Lotterer.