Nissan e.DAMS

Name: Nissian e.DAMS (Driot Associes Motorsport)
Founded: 1988
Based: Ruaudin, France
Founders: Jean-Paul Driot and Rene Arnoux
Team Principal: Francois Sicard
Car Numbers: 23 and 22
Current Drivers: Sébastien Buemi and Oliver Rowland

DAMS joined the International Formula 3000 Championship the year after its foundation in which they remained until 2001. They were one of the many French teams that were part of the Elf Young Driver Sponsorship program. DAMS also had plans to join the F1 World Championship in 1996 but a lack of funding prevented this advancement. DAMS also took part in preparing and racing cars in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. DAMS have collected 15 Drivers Titles, 15 Team Titles and 169 Race Victories in their time with 32 of their drivers reaching Formula One. Their victories are spread across a total of ten different single-seater series. After the passing of founder Jean-Paul Driot, his sons Olivier and Gregory now run the team.

In 2005, DAMS moves into the new GP2 Series, winning the first race with Jose Maria Lopez. They also took home wins with driver Nicolas Lapierre. DAMS were associated with the Toyota Drivers Programme from the years 2006 to 2009, taking on Kazuki Nakajima in 2007 who finished 5th in the championship and raced in the last Formula One Grand Prix of the season with Williams. In 2008, he was replaced by Kamui Kobayashi. 2009 marked DAMS first series win in GP2 with Kamui Kobayashi in first and Jerome d’Ambrosio second in the GP2 Asia Series Championship. Kobayashi and d’Ambrosio stayed for two years yet neither were able to remain consistent.

Following into 2011 and 2012, DAMS claimed a back to back drivers’ championships’ with Romain Grosjean winning in 2011 and Davide Valsecchi winning the latter. In 2014, DAMS won both the teams’ and drivers’ championships with Jolyon Palmer. DAMS headed into the 2015 season with Red Bull Junior Team driver Pierre Gasly who now races with Alpha Tauri in Formula One. His partner, 2014 GP3 Champion Alex Lynn took his first GP2 victory in the Barcelona Sprint with Gasly joining him on the podium in third.

After a successful few years in GP2, DAMS entered the new FIA Formula 2 Championship where they claimed their first teams’ title in 2019 after taking third back to back in 2017 and 2018. Across the three years, DAMS managed to take home 14 wins across the two years with Formula One driver Alexander Albon taking home four wins and third in the championship in 2018 and Nicholas Latifi racking up six wins across his three years at DAMS, finishing second in the 2019 championship.

Notable Drivers
– Romain Grosjean
– Davide Valsecchi
– Jolyon Palmer
– Kevin Magnussen
– Pierre Gasly
– Carlos Sainz
– Alexander Albon
– Nicholas Latifi
– Sébastien Buemi
– Nicolas Prost
– Oliver Rowland

FIA Formula E
DAMS joined FIA Formula E in 2014 under the name e.DAMS with Alain Prost. They debuted with Nicolas Prost and Sébastien Buemi in their rookie years where Buemi went on to take three wins and a further two podiums while Prost took a single win and another podium to place the team first in the team standings for the first ever race year in Formula E. They remained with Prost and Buemi for the 2015 to 2016 season where the team took first once again with Buemi winning three races and Prost winning two. For a third year, Prost and Buemi returned alongside Pierre Gasly, who raced in NYC in place of Buemi. Buemi took six wins out of his ten races while Prost remained continuously in the points. It was good enough to land them a fourth year with the team as they joined e.DAMS for the 2017 to 2018 series. There season wasn’t as successful as then took 5th to finish the season with four podiums.

Nissan became the top sponsor for the team as they made the name change to Nissan e.DAMS. That wasn’t the only change as they saw Nicolas Prost leave the team, being replaced by Oliver Rowland. They took four podiums and a single win to finish fourth. Although it wasn’t as good as previous years, it was still an improvement from the previous year.

2019-2020 FIA Formula E

For the FIA Formula E 2019 to 2020 season, the team will be joined by Sébastien Buemi in car 23 and Oliver Rowland in car number 22. So far, they have raced in 5 races and currently sit at 4th in the standings with 57 points.

(Information updated: 14/03/2020)