Tag Heuer Porsche

Name: TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team
Stuttgart, Germany
Ferdinand Porsche
Team Principal:
Fritz Enzinger
Car Numbers:
18 and 36
Current Drivers:
Neel Jani and Andre Lotterer

Porsche debuted in motorsport when they began in th 1950’s and 60’s, racing in small capacity road and racing cars. Their most notable wins were in 1956, 59, 60, 64 and every year from 1966 to 1970 in the Targa Florio. They introduced to 911 in 1963 where they went on to win the Rally Monte Carlo.

Porsche went on to start competing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans championships with the 917 which became one of the the most iconic racing cars of all time. They went on to win in 1996 and 1997. Porsche continued in Le Mans for many years, completing a hat rick in 2017 where they won with Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber and Brendon Hartley. Midway through the year, they went on to announce that they would close their LMP1 programe.

The team also competed in rallying between the 1960s and late 1970s where they took the European Rally Championship for Group 1 Series Touring Cars with Sobiesław Zasada. Their first podium finish in the WRC was in 1973 when Leo Kinnunen took third place. The team withdrew from the WRC before taking a win to their name, however they took multiple with private 911’s. The first was Jack Tordoff when he won the International Rally. Jean-Pierre Nicolas went on to win the 1978 Monte Carlo Rally with a private 911 SC while Jean-Luc Therier won the 1980 Tour de Corse.

Ferdinand Porsche designed Grand Prix cars in the 1920’s and 1930’s for Mercedes and Auto Union but the team never felt ‘at home’ in the single seater series. They designed a two-seater sports car for the Formula Two races as the rules allowed it. They eventually moved the seat to the middle and began to upgrade the cars from Formula 2 to Formula 1 in 1961. In 1962, they designed a newly developed Porsche 804 where the took their only win as a constructor in a championship race. Dan Gurney took this at the French Grand Prix. The team withdrew at the end of ’62 due to the high costs. They later returned to Formula One in 1983 where they supplied turbo engines for McLaren. TAG Porsche powered cars took two constructor champions in 1984 and 1985. They also saw three drivers crowned champions in 1984, 85 and 86. McLaren took 25 victories with 19 for Alain Prost, World Champion in 1985 and 1986 and 6 for Niki Lauder, 1984 World Champion. Porsche returned back to Formula One once more in 1991 as an engine supplier but with great failure.

Porsche also raced in Indycars with their first attempt in the 1980 Indianapolis 500 but withdrew after complications. They returned in 1987 and 1988 where Teo Fabi raced for the team and finished 10th in the points. They withdrew from IndyCar at the end of the 1990 season.

Notable Drivers
– Andre Lotterer
– Brendon Hartley
– Neel Jani
– Helmut Marko
– Mark Webber
– Mario Andretti

FIA Formula E
It was confirmed in July of 2017 that Porsche would withdraw from the FIA World Endurance Championship at the end of its season that year, where they left named as double world-wide champion and three time winners of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. This was to allow for their entrance into the FIA Formula E championship. They debuted into the current series, 2019 to 2020. They received their first Gen2 chassis during the second week of January 2019 before debuting at the 2019 Ad Diriyah ePrix.

2019-2020 FIA Formula E
For their FIA Formula E Season, the team will be joined by Neel Jani in car number 19 and Andre Lotterer in car number 36. So far, they have raced in 5 races and the team sit at 9th with 25 points.

(Information updated: 14/03/2020)