BMW i Andretti Motorsport

Name: BMW i Andretti Motorsport
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Barry Green and Gerald Forsythe
Team Principal: 
Rob Edwards
Car Numbers:
 28 and 27
Current Drivers: Maximilian Günther and Jake Dennis

Andretti originally started as Forsythe Green Racing in 1993 when Barry Green and Gerald Forsythe competed in the CART series. They entered into the Atlantics series with two entries for their debut series as a team before moving to the CART series with Jacques Villeneuve in 1994. They went on to place second at the 1994 Indianapolis 500. The team was renamed Team Green in 1995 where they went on to win the Indianapolis 500 and CART Championship. For the next season in 1996, the team was known as Brahma Sports Team before KOOL cigarettes became the major sponsor in 1997 to rename them as Team KOOL Green.

In 2001, they became best known as Team Motorola and continued to compete in the Indianapolis 500 and the CART series. Michael Andretti joined as a satellite team headed by Kim Green. Andretti and Green were the two to return to Indy after a five year absence. In 2002, KOOL could no longer appear on the cars so the associate sponsor, 7-Eleven appeared on the sidepods instead. 2003 saw an abundance of problems in CART, Andretti switched to the IndyCar Series where he renamed the team to Andretti Green Racing. They raced under the new name in IndyCar up until 2009 when they made the executive decision to rename to Andretti Autosport when Michael Andretti took over as the sole owner.

The team debuted in the American Le Mans Series in 2006 where they competed through until 2008. In 2010, they entered the U.S. F2000 National Championship for the year.

They’ve had many drivers compete with the team in various categories. You may recognise some familar names:
– Jacques Villeneuve
– Alexander Rossi
– Michael Andretti
– Marco Andretti
– Fernando Alonso
– Adam Carroll
– Jean-Éric Vergne
– Robin Frijns
– Antonio Felix da Costa
– Alexander Sims
– Maximilian Günther

Andretti Autosport debuted in the FIA Formula E series in 2014 where they started with two French drivers; Franck Montagny and Charles Pic. Montagny took second while Pic to fourth. Pic was replaced for the second race by Matthew Brabham while Freanck was later disqualified from Putrajaya and replaced by Jean-Éric Vergne. Brabham remained with the team for two races before Marco Andretti took his place. From there, after a single race Scott Speed too Andretti’s place for four races before he was then replaced by Justin Wilson. Simona de Silvestro finished the last two races for the team. The team finished 6th in the standings.

Simona de Silvestro returned for the 2015 to 2016 season with the team where she was joined by Robin Frijns. Their year was rough, taking a single podium in Putrajaya and placed 7th in the standings. For 2016 to 2017, de Silvestro was replaced by António Félix da Costa where the team went on to finish 7th once again. 2017 to 2018 saw a mixture of different team mates for da Costa as he started the season racing alongside Kamui Kobayashi. After two races, Kobayashi was replaced by Tom Blomqvist who raced with the team for six races where he retired on his last. From there, Stephane Sarrazin joined da Costa for the remaining races of the season. This year was the teams worst year as they went on to finish 10th in the standings.

For 2018 to 2019, da Costa was joined by Alexander Sims for the entirety of the season. The team saw a major improvement as da Costa went on to take the teams first win during the first race of the season in Ad Diriyah. He went on to take a further three podiums to place the team in 5th, the highest Andretti have managed to place in Formula E.


With a brand new season ahead, Alexander Sims left the team to join Mahindra Racing which meant there was a vacant seat to fill. Jake Dennis, a rookie to the sport, came in to fill the seat, driving alongside Maximilian Günther, who has got two seasons under his name. Günther retakes #28, whilst Dennis takes #27.