Jaguar Racing

Name: Jaguar Racing
1999 / 2016
Milton Keynes, UK / Grove, Oxfordshire, UK
Sir William Lyons’s
Team Principal:
Gerd Mäuser and James Barclay
Car Numbers:
10 and 20
Current Drivers:
Sam Bird and Mitch Evans

Jaguar Racing debuted in Formula One in 2000 when they replaced Jackie Stewart’s Stewart Grand Prix Formula One team. They were renamed to Jaguar Racing to promote the car company although, no Jaguar engine was used. Wolfgang Reitzle managed to team in 2000 where he hired the 1999 world championship runner up Eddie Irvine and former Stewart driver Johnny Herbet. They finished ninth in the Constructors’ Championship. The results didn’t improve in the second year. Three-time world champion Niki Lauda joined the team mid way through 2001 to help with team morale but it did not help. Irvine went on to score Jaguar’s first podium in Monaco where he took third, helping to place the team eight in the Constructors’ Championship.

In 2003, Irvine scored a second third place for the team, this time at Monza, which helped boost them to seventh in the Constructors; Championship. This was Jaguars last podium in Formula One. The funding into 2003 was reduced, leaving over 70 staff redundant. They took seventh in the Constructors’ Championship with the new line up of Mark Webber and Antonio Pizzonia, who was later replaced by Justin Wilson. 2004 was the teams last season in the championship when they had a stable build of points but couldn’t break seventh, making that three years in a row. Ford chose to sell the Jaguar Racing at the end of 2004, although the points were becoming steady, due to Jaguar not advertising the Ford brand. Red Bull confirmed the purchase of Jaguar Racing in late 2004 where they changed to Red Bull Racing and used the engine and chassis that Jaguar would have raced in the 2005 season of Formula One.

RSR Racing revealed that in their 2009 season of GT2, they would be using the new Jaguar XKR GT2 car where the team would enter the American Le Mans Series’ GT2 class. They first raced it in 2010 with Paul Gentilozzi, Ryan Dalziel and Marc Goossens although, they finished last in the GT class with five points. They also participated in the 24 Hours of Le Mans but retired early. They entered once more with Cristiano de Matta and Bruno Junqueira in the Amerian Le Mans Series where they finished 9th with 6 points.

A Jaguar also raced in the GT3 with Apex Motortsport between 2007 and 2009 in the FIA GT3 European Championship. Jaguar also had a long stint in the Blancpain GT Series with Emil Frey Racing with the Jaguar XK Emil Frey G3 cars. They debuted in the 2012 season and finished in the 2018 series. For their farewell season, the car was moved to the Silver Cup where they won the championship with Alex Fontana, Mikaël Grenier and Adrian Zaugg. They placed third overall in the Endurance Cup Team Rankings.

In 2018, Jaguar joined Invictus Game Racing to place two cars in the British GT Championship. The car, Jaguar F-Type SVR GT4, was made exclusively for the British GT. In 2019, they reduced down to a single car with Matthew George, Steve McCulley and Paul Vice racing with the team. The team disbanded prior to the 2020 season.

Jaguar Racing launched a support series for Formula E, the Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy, where they operate an ‘Arrive and Drive’ package for up to 20 drivers each race during the 2018-19 season. Unfortunately from the 2019-2020 season onwards, the series was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

They’ve had many drivers compete with the team in various categories. You may recognise some familar names:
– Eddie Irvine
– Johnny Herbet
– Mark Webber
– Justin Wilson
– Pedro de la Rosa
– Mitch Evans
– Nelson Piquet Jr
– James Calado

Jaguar Racing debuted in the FIA Formula E Championship during the 2016 to 2017 season where the replaced Trulli GP who folded. They were joined by Adam Carroll, Harry Tincknell, Mitch Evans and Alex Lynn for the pre-season test at Donington Park. Carroll and Evans were signed to the team. Panasonic became the main sponsor for the team, essentially making Jaguar Racing into Panasonic Jaguar Racing. They finished 10th in the Teams’ Championship during their rookie year, taking their best result in Mexico City. Headed into the 2017 to 2018 season, Jaguar signed Nelson Piquet Jr and kept Mitch Evans where they went to take their first podium after Mitch Evans was moved to third following a post race disqualification of Daniel Abt. At Zürich ePrix, Evans claimed their maiden pole position. That year, Jaguar finished 6th in the Teams’ Championship.

Jaguar kept their same line up for the 2018 to 2019 season, where Piquet was replaced in the March of 2019 due to his string of poor results and was replaced by Alex Lynn. Evans went on to win in Rome. Although their year was much stronger in the second half of the season, they team only took 7th in the Teams’ Championship with 116 points. Although the team saw no improvement in their position in the standings, Evans finished three points shy of Lucas di Grassi who finished third.

The team decided to take on James Calado in replacement of Alex Lynn. Evans managed to claim the first podium of the season in Mexico City behind da Costa, settling for 3rd. Following this, he managed to take a win in Marrakesh. Before the Berlin rounds, the team had collected 66 points, sitting in 3rd. A string of misfortunes and mishaps, the best result out in Berlin was 6th by Mitch Evans in the first round. Only four points finishes were gathered, merely leaving them behind in 7th with 81 points, with them only gaining 15 points in the final six rounds.

Jaguar decided to retain the Kiwi, but this time they picked up Sam Bird, who had previously competed with Envision Virgin Racing. Mitch Evans keeps #20, whilst Bird picks up #10.