Mahindra Racing

Name: Mahindra Racing
Non Applicable
Team Principal: 
Dilbagh Gill
Car Numbers:
29 and 94
Current Drivers:
Alexander Sims and Alex Lynn

Mahindra headed into the FIM MotoGP World Motorcycle Racing Championship Series in 2011. They went on to take the first ever podium for an Indian constructor in MotoGP at the Malaysian Grand Prix 2013. In that same season, the team finished 3rd in the Constructors’ Championship. They went on to take three further podiums in 2014, taking second in Germany.

As of 2015, Mahindra stopped running their own team and made the decision to concentrate on their development program. In 2017, Mahindra Racing began to compete as a constructor in the Moto3 class of MotoGP. They continue as a supplier to the factory Peugeot MC Saxoprint Team.

They’ve had many drivers compete with the team in various categories. You may recognise some familar names:
– Bruno Senna
– Karun Chandhok
– Nick Heidfeld
– Felix Rosenqvist
– Pascal Wehrlein
– Jérôme d’Ambrosio

Mahindra Racing debuted in the FIA Formula E championship during the 2014 to 2015 season with Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna. After a rough beginning, they finished 8th in the championship standings with 4th being their highest results. Their second year in the 2015 to 2016 season was a lot better for the team as they have the return of Senna and Nick Heidfeld joins the team. Oliver Rowland filled in for the team during their third race. They took 5th in the standings to finish the year. Heidfeld returned for the 2016 to 2017 season where he was joined by Felix Rosenqvist, taking the teams first race win. The team went on to finish 3rd in the standings, their highest team championship.

Both drivers returned for the 2017 to 2018 season, taking two more race wins for the team and placing the team fourth. Rosenqvist completed one race with the team in 2018 to 2019 but retired and left the team. He was replaced by Pascal Wehrlein who raced alongside Jérôme d’Ambrosio. The team finished 6th in the standings.


Pascal Wehrlein was set to leave the team, meaning a new driver had to replace him. In the end, it was Alexander Sims who was transferring from BMW i Andretti. Alex Lynn was later announced to join alongside him. Sims picks up a new driver number of #29 and Lynn takes up Wehrlein’s #94.