Guide to Formula 2

FIA Formula 2 is a championship created by the FIA for the journey up towards Formula 1, racing alongside the main series in some events. It became Formula 2 in 2017 after it was rebranded from GP2. The first ever champion being Charles Leclerc with Prema Racing.

All the Formula 2 cars are spec cars meaning they have the same chassis, engine and tyre supplier so driver efforts are reflected. This means that it’s all about talent in Formula 2 in order to win the championship. Each driver is given 5 sets of tyres per weekend: three sets of “prime”‘s and two sets of “option”‘s. Along with this, they are also given three sets of wet-weather tyres.

Points are also awarded for pole position with 4 points and fastest lap with 2 points.

In Formula 2, there are 4 sessions in a weekend. They are as follows:

PracticeThere is a 45 minute practice session where the drivers can learn the track, gain knowledge on tyres, formulate a strategy for the races and so on.
QualifyingA 30 minute session where every driver competes to get pole position. Each driver goes out in the session to complete their best lap time. The quickest starts on pole in Race 1 and also gains 4 championship points.
Feature RaceIt is usually a 60 minute race (or 170km) for the Feature Race. In the feature race, they must complete a compulsory pit stop with a change of compound of either primes or options. The top 10 score points.
Sprint RaceThis is a shorter race, taking 45 minutes (or 120km). The top 8 finishers of race 1 are reversed, so the 8th finisher starts 1st. This time, the top 8 score points.

Points are as follows, with extra points given for:
– Pole Position (+4)
– Fastest Lap in a Race (+2)

For Race 1/Feature Race, the points are as follows:


For Race 2/Sprint Race, the points are as follows:


Over the 3 seasons, the champions are:

2017Charles LeclercPrema Racing
2018George RussellCarlin
2019Nyck de VriesDAMS
2020season still ongoingseason still ongoing